My Favorite Blogger # 2 : Elizabeth Hartman


I came across Elizabeth’s’ site, http://www.ohfransson.com, during my search for a sewing machine. I was completely  smitten by her work. Firstly, Its SO NEAT!!! I mean, straight lines are PERFECTLY straight! Seam allowances are even. The quilt blocks lie flat!! At that time, my only intention of buying a sewing machine was for routine household sewing. I could not resist going through her blog. When I saw the beautiful quilts she had made I thought, What the heck! I can try my hand at this.

I followed her directions for the mod sampler quilt religiously and made my first quilt. I totally enjoyed the process. And then there was no looking back. I made 4-5 quilts using the quilting basics that are so beautifully illustrated on her site. I even went on and did the free motion quilting, something that I had completely dreaded.

I have been asking her thousands of questions right from the beginning. And she has answered each one of them with a lot of patience. The impression that her mails gave me were that of a very warm lady. She sure knows her job the best and yet she’s always ready to share her knowledge with everyone else.

In course of my search for tutorials on the www, hers was the blog with the maximum tutorials. All of them are so neatly drafted. There is little doubt in our minds after going through them.

The final moment came, when I attempted the paintbox quilt-along. It was fun to do it at a decent pace of 8 blocks a week. I’m looking forward to her next quilt along.

She’s also finished writing her first book.

The Practical Guide to Patchwork: New Basics for the Modern Quiltmaker (Paperback)

You can find the link here.

Wish you all the best with your book, Elizabeth. You’ve been one of my favorite teachers. (The others are mostly my primary school teachers)

So all my dear friends, do have a look at her website. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

You must be logged in to post a comment.
