Tutorial # 2 : A Super Stash-buster


I hope you guys have been keeping all the fabric scraps… And I also remember I had said something about keeping those tiny pieces too… So here’s the Super Stash Buster Block…

Step 1 : Cut a piece for foundation piecing 2 inches larger than the desired block size.

Step 2 : Take a piece of odd shaped scrap from your stash and applique it to the foundation piece with a zig-zag stitch around all edges.

Step 3 : Lay another piece right next to one of the edges and repeat step 2.

Step 4 : Continue till you have covered the entire backing fabric. Your Block is ready!

I suggest that you use white linen for the sashing as it will really bring out the colors on your block. You start using larger pieces. Dont worry about the small gaps in between the pieces. You can cover them up with the tiny pieces later. Alternatively if you use a printed scrap as foundation this wont be a bother at all.

Here’s my block. Will upload the snap of the finished quilt soon.

My crazy patch block

Hope you have a great time getting rid of your stash.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

You must be logged in to post a comment.
